And I have the attention span of a gerbil…

…that’s on speed!

Self-involved post temporarily preempted: As my students were quietly working on the computer, I stepped out to use “the facilities” and the wind, which is usually at least slightly present had died. It’s been in the mid 60s all morning and a little humid, so the stillness made it feel pretty muggy, almost unpleasantly so. There was a hint of something undeniable in the air, a palpable tension. I made my way back to my classroom, a chill running down my spine that had nothing to do with cold. Not five minutes later, as I raced to hack out a blog post before the students finished their alotted 25 minutes on the computer, something seemed to snap and, with a sense of awe, I watched the precise moment that the weather changed. Wind gushed through the trees in a torrent and chill air drifted in through my open door. I stepped out onto the walkway and it feels like the temperature already dropped at least 10°.

I saw the weather change! So freaking cool! :D

And getting back to the post already in progress:

I wrote something today and it felt fantastic. For the last several months writing has felt like agonizing work every time I’ve attempted anything remotely creative. (Really, I am so sorry for the following analogy because, ew, but it’s apt, I promise!) The nearest (and really gross if you think about it too much) analogy I can think of is constipation or a urinary tract infection. Every little bit of writing that I’ve been able to get out has been agonizing and leaves me feeling depressed that I can’t WRITE like I used to.

So, today, as I waited in the drive-thru at McDonald’s for a much-needed iced latte (it was in the 60s as I’m sure you recall), the shoddily painted brick wall gave me an idea for a scene (I’m not sure if it’s for a book or a short story). I jotted down the brass tacks and continued on my merry way. The latte was very strong, by the way, but that was fantastic! When I got to work, early as always or I won’t beat the traffic that will make me late, I had some time, so I sat down with pen and paper and started to write.

My first attempt was stunted early. I didn’t set up enough exposition and was it quickly (within three sentences) clear that I was going to run into a brick wall. So I grabbed a clean sheet and started where it was supposed to start and it flowed! It was such a wonderful feeling that as the time for class quickly approached, I was really sad to stop for fear that I would lose my momentum. It remains to be seen if the return of my ease of writing is permanent or not, but I certainly hope it is.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on February 9, 2011, in AWESOME!, Me, Random, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I hope so too! I haven’t written anything of the fictional variety in ages. My former professors would be so angry. They were pushing me to get an MFA, and instead, I went to go work for an insurance company, lol.

    Do you think what you’re working on will be a short story, or is it more novel material? Did you participate in NaNoWriMo this past Novemeber?

    • Well, I’ve had this idea for a kind of modern fantasy/horror-ish novel that keeps bouncing around my brain that I think I could work the scene into (if I ever really get around to writing it) or, if it stands on its own I might go the short story route.

      I’ve done NaNoWriMo before and I did participate this year for a while, but I don’t think it’s an effective way for me to write. I get really stressed out and end up churning out hundreds of pages of mostly useless crap. Last year I “won” and had over 60k words at the end, but didn’t end up with anything even resembling anything good and it wasn’t even close to being finished! It’s not worth the headache or the rereading/rewriting nightmare for me.

  2. I was gonna give it a shot next year. My fiance just did it this past November, and it worked out well for him. He says he’s got most of a halfway decent novel. Needs editing, of couse, but I guess it’s a good start.

    • I think it works great for some people and for others, not so much. You just have to give it a try and see. I’d say go for it. Even if I’m not entirely happy with the result, I’m glad that I can say that I did it!

Leave a Reply

