Ramble-matic, ENGAGE!

I don’t know what the problem is, but lately every time I sit down to blog, every single interesting idea scatters from my head like a swarm of cockroaches when the lights turn on. (You’re welcome for that charming analogy!) Not only that, but thanks to a lack of computer time, I’m horribly behind on my blog reading! It’s not that I don’t love you wonderful bloggy people, it’s just that I’m bogged down with the new semester and looking busy when I’ve got spare time. (Let’s be honest, now, shall we. How much of your time at work is actually spent working?)

Maybe it’s just this time of year that puts me in a funk. And I can’t even say it’s the weather because of the yo-yo that has been South Texas weather this year. It should not be 89°F in January in this hemisphere! And it most certainly should not be bouncing from a high of 88°F to a high of 43°F and then back up to 89°F within the span of two weeks! And for those of you in the chilly northern states that want to bitch-slap me about now, I apologize. I know things could be worse (much, much worse) it’s just irritating to live somewhere so schizophrenic. For someone that doesn’t like hot weather, I am living in the wrong part of the world!

Mostly, though, if I really stop to think about it, which I’ve been purposely avoiding,  this time of year makes me really melancholy. This was always the time of year that we reconnected with family. It seemed that even when we were living on the other side of the country we would go “home” for the holidays  every couple of years. And here it is, 10 years since I’ve set foot on Georgian soil. 10 years. Is it any wonder that I feel so disconnected and disjointed?

And now, with Grandpa’s passing, I’m kind of scared to go “home”. Just the thought of that old, crumbly house without him makes my heart ache. And then there’s that ever present fear that the warmth and acceptance that have always been there, no matter how long it’s been since we last visited, won’t be there. That it will be awkward and uncomfortable and the ease of slipping into old grooves with people that have known you all your life will be too rusted. I don’t know if I could take that. It’s easier not to face the possibility. It’s easier to wonder and not not test it.

For so long, I’ve been so afraid of putted down roots to be ripped up (again) that I think they might have shriveled up and died. I hold people at arms length. I disconnect. I’m a horrible friend. A horrible sister. A horrible daughter. And now a horrible aunt. I never call. I never visit. And for all the impact I have on the lives of the people I claim to love, I could be living in a monastery cut off from the rest of the world.

It’s kind of funny (in an ironic, not-funny-at-all-but-really-really-sad, kind of way). When I read about people’s day to day lives, whether it be in blog form or on farcebook or twither, and they talk about doing this and that with a friend or family member and it’s quite clear the kind of easy connection they have with these people, even when they’re doing something as mundane as grocery shopping or having dinner or anything like that or even just talking on the phone, it breaks me up a little. I feel a little stab of pain for the real, meaningful relationships that I’ve ignored and abandoned and that feel so far out of reach. I envy you.

If we are the sum of the roots that we put down, what the hell am I?

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on February 1, 2011, in Family, Life, Me, Musings, Random, Sadness^Pi, Stress. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The weather has been schizophrenic lately. Yesterday I had the air conditioner on, and then after the crazy storm last night I have the heater going now.

    I understand about your disconnect and fears. I’ve actually gone the other way though, from being several states away to living in the same (albeit, huge) state as 99% of my family. But the fear is still there, and even heightened. I mean, after all, now that I’m in Texas, too, what excuse do I have for missing holidays and birthdays? If I can’t connect now, how can I?

    I’ll be honest, that first trip home is probably going to be awkward and a bit painful. My first trip to my mom’s side of the family after she passed included the (in my family) ritual visitation of the grave. It was hard, but helped that I had my favorite cousin with me. We were able to talk and distract ourselves through the awkwardness. I hope that when you get home, you have that one person to help you transition.

    I think it’s a lot harder to put down roots now. It’s the battle of our generation, and as of yet, none of my friends have the answer. Here’s hoping that we can find some way to manage.

    Sorry this was a bit of a novel.

    • It’s nice to know I’m not the only one, even though it sucks that anyone has to be in our shoes. I don’t know if it’s just something to do with moving as a kid or what, but I’m really hoping to figure it out before I become a scary, friendless old cat lady!

  2. Well, if nothing else, with the advent of the internet, I’m sure there are crazy cat lady hubs to swap tips and such. ;-)

  3. I’m the Queen of the Disconnect. I can drop pretty much everyone rather easily. My worry? That it doesn’t bother me MORE.

    But I got my man and my cats, so I just don’t see the need for more people in my life.

    Hope you cheer up. Spring will be here shortly! (And, no, I’m not referring to myself, ha.)

    • The ones that bother me the most are my immediate family. My little family unit of four (my parents, my brother and myself) have always been pretty close, but as we’ve gotten busy and our lives take us in different directions, I feel us drifting.

      Also: Hooray for more cat people!

Leave a Reply

