Crazy days!

What can you do when life gets hectic? Yeesh!

So, today, after work, Aaron and I will be driving up to Austin for w00tstock! Haven’t heard of it? Check it out. Hosted by Wil Wheaton (Actor/Nerd icon), Adam Savage (Mythbusters) and Paul and Storm (Musical Comedy Duo), w00tstock is a multimedia event that celebrates the nerd! If you like Mythbusters, w00tstock is for you! If you can accurately answer the question, “What was Han Solo encased in?” w00tstock is for you! If you have any interest in anything nerdy/geeky, w00tstock is for you!

I’m excited.

Though I am dissappointed that, due to a scheduling conflict, Wil Wheaton will not be at w00tstock Austin (I heart Wil Wheaton), we’re getting and equally squee-worthy Wil Wheaton stand-in: Neil Gaiman! Ever since reading Good Omens (which he coauthored with Sir Terry Pratchett), Gaiman has been one of my favorite fiction writers. I especially love his children’s lit (Coraline and The Graveyard Book) and short story collections.

And on top of the w00tstock excitement, I have decided to participate in the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) again this year. I have a kind of ambitious sci fi/fantasy idea. It remains to be seen if I will, indeed, achieve NaNoWriMo success again this year!

Wish me luck! (definatly not lick… ew… gross typo!)

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on November 1, 2010, in AWESOME!, Books, Fun, Geekiness, Me, NaNoWriMo, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh how I wish I had the cojones to get my nanowrimo on. Hell, I don’t even think I’m going to nablopomofo this year. I feel like just swallowed marbles.

    • Lol! Don’t fret! If you wanna do it, do it. If not, screw it! You shouldn’t feel any kind of obligation either way.

      I do have to say one thing about any of these month long endeavors: we are more forgiving of our writing when participating since it’s definitely quantity over quality. When I did NaNoWriMo last year, I churned out almost 60k words of unusable crap, but it was an exercise in determination that taught me a lot. I’m hoping that whatever spawns out of this year’s attempt will be at least usable in some fashion and hopefully, with a lot of work, marketable. :)

  2. “Lick.” lol. I love it.

    I’m glad to see that you’re participating in NaNoWriMo. :)

    And me, personally, I’d be more excited to see Neil Gaiman than Wil Wheaton, anyway. I don’t really know much about Wil Wheaton, save the name and that everyone else loves him.

    It could be that I do know who he is, though, and have completely forgotten. My brain is VERY bad about that. I have a tendency to recognize a lot of people in movies but never remember their names or where I’ve seen them, lol.

    • Just got home from our trip and I must say it was rather thrilling to hear Neil Gaiman give a live reading and I got to shake his hand when we got his autograph! ::swoon::

      Wil Wheaton was Weasley Crusher on Star Trek TNG and has done various things in between, including, more recently, a role on “The Guild” (a web series about a bunch of people that are in a MMORPG guild together) as Fawkes, the leader of their rival guild “Axis of Anarchy”. He also has a recurring role on The Big Bang Theory as “himself” (but really as Evil Wil Wheaton). He is also the creator of “Wheaton’s Law” which is something I think everyone should aspire to live by: Don’t be a dick

      I must admit that I had a crush on him when he was on the Next Generation which, in a small way, has carried on into adulthood.

Leave a Reply

