It’s raining cats and dogs!

Ah, what’s not to love about being jolted awake by thunder and a terrified, meowing cat? O_o I’m just glad we decided last night we weren’t going to go to the outlet mall.

Not that I don’t enjoy sitting in my living room and listening to the sound of rain, it’s not exactly what I had planned to do today. Oh well, we’ll make the best of it! :)

I have a confession to make. While it’s no secret that I’m a bibliophile, only recently I’ve gotten hooked on audiobooks. They’re great for the daily commute and they leave my hands and eyes free to do important things like play spider solitaire! Plus, I can load them onto my mp3 player that I always have on hand anyway so I don’t have to worry about carrying an actual book with me everywhere.

I started listening to them when I first got the materials for my reading class. It included some paperback/audiobook sets that I decided to try out to see if they would be any good for my students. I started listening to them in the CD player of my car and while they had an annoying reading coach (which, by the way, is an awesome feature for the students) I found myself getting lost in the stories, just like I did with physical books.  I’ve never understood why people don’t like to read because when I read, it’s like a movie playing in my head. I SEE what’s going on. To the point that everything around me fades into the background.

So, I was hooked and after I finished all the books for my class room (Cause I had to test all of them… FOR SCIENCE!) I didn’t know what to do because there was no way that I was going to get through my commute with no books to listen to… So, I priced them… My jaw was on the floor. Thirty to forty bucks for a BOOK?! I was crestfallen. There was no way I was paying over twenty bucks EXTRA just to have a book read to me. It was back to music in the car. A sorry substitute. :(

I made due for months, subsisting on the (VERY) occasional bargain bin title that I could find. Which, by the way, Kurt Vonnegut’s Armageddon in Retrospect read by Rip Torn. Fantastic! But with each bargain purchase, I found myself chaffing, because, let me tell you, pickings are slim on that horrible table and it takes at least half an hour to find anything halfway decent. So, I hit the web and I was amazed to find that there were subscription based websites out there. :D

After I shared my good news with Aaron and was met with a standard “You didn’t know?” I subscribed and I get my fix once a month…

Now we come to the confession part… I think that having my books read to me while I just lie back and enjoy may be having an effect on my consumption of “real” books. Really. This has never happened to me before. I mean, I do have lulls in my appetite for reading, but I’ve never gone this long without getting engaged in a book. I’ll usually bounce from book to book waiting for that “catch” and then little by little all of the books that I’ve stockpiled get finished. But this time around I’ve got four or five books that I’ve gotten a chapter or so into and then lost interest.

I’m sorry books… We’re breaking up. It’s not you… It’s me. :-(

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on May 18, 2010, in Books, Me, Musings, Random, Sadness^Pi. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. i’m afraid listening wouldn’t work for me because of my A.D.D. i’ll have to give it a whirl.

  2. I like it on road trips, or long commutes to and from school, but I haven’t found any I like recently audio wise.

    • I know what you mean. There have been several books that I passed up after previewing the audio file. My current favorite reader is Simon Vance. :)

Leave a Reply

