Hoydee doydee doo…

I don’t know what I’m saying or why, half the time!

Feeling particularly brain dead today… It started with sneezing and itchy sinuses and a strange sense of foreboding that hasn’t really left me yet. I’m still watching the sky for falling carp*… Then, the class I accompany to the community college finished two hours early because the professor had a family emergency and we came back to campus at a weird time when I’m not usually here.

But, on the plus side, the uninvited guests on campus that we believe [and hope and pray] are the cause of our flea troubles were caught this morning:

Dirty, flea-infested varmint!

That’s right! We were, apparently, infested with possums**. I first spotted one (an ENORMOUS, ugly thing!) last Wednesday during the math test, running across my roof and informed our office staff. Our counselor, bless her soul, got right on it and contacted someone about setting traps for them. (Don’t worry. Live animal traps with the promise of release outside city limits.)

Of course, the guy didn’t come until Monday, but this morning was the day! When I got back to campus from our brief trip to the college, I was informed that the big one had been caught earlier and that this little guy was waiting to be picked up and taken to his new home:

Don’t worry, he’s not dead, just being shy. :)

*Before you ask: Not a typo. I really do mean carp as in the fish.

**”Opossum” is much more fun in Spanish: “tlacuache” (pronounced Ta-qua-che)

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on May 6, 2010, in Random. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Blech. Filthy things.

    So that’s how you spell tlacuache! I was wracking my brains all morning trying to remember.

  2. OPOSSUMS SUCK AND I HATE THEM! They are terrifying dodgy creatures. Almost as bad as birds. Almost.

Leave a Reply

