Maybe I’ll catch some and open a circus.

What. The. Hell. There are freaking fleas in my classroom! I was in there for all of thirty minutes when I looked down to see something black on my hand. A FLEA! I smushed it and went on talking to one of my students. Not ten minutes later I spotted another one on my other hand! If I develop the Black Death, you can’t say I didn’t warn you ahead of time. Ghastly! >:(

Moving on to less itchy things!

I’m sure everybody feels this way sometimes, but there are certain things in my life that make me feel decidedly adult. And preemptively, no, Marty, I don’t mean adult in any kind of sexual way! :P What I do mean is that most of the time I still feel like a kid. I mean, I play video games, spend an inordinate amount of time online and I’m not particularly good at housekeeping. Don’t get me wrong, I kind of like feeling young but there are things that remind me in no uncertain terms that I am an adult.

Now these things fall into two categories. There are the things that make me feel old and those that make me feel all proud of myself for doing something grown up. I’m gonna focus on the proud side, because who likes to feel old? Other than paying bills and buying groceries and all of the mundane things that we all have to do to maintain a home and that I’ve been doing, at least in part, since I was 19 or 20, there are a few things that give me a giddy little thrill of “adultness”.

The first of these was signing the contract for my first job as a teacher. Up until that point I had been working hourly jobs. It was an amazing feeling to know that money wasn’t going to be tight anymore and it was thanks to getting a “real” job. (My initial teaching salary was more than Aaron and I were making combined even though, at the time, it was lower than some of the other districts in the area.) As will all things, the sheen of amazement soon wore off, but it was nice while it lasted.

Next, thanks to my wonderful new job, I was finally able to afford a new car. I’d been driving the same car since my senior year of high school and even then it was old. By the end, there, my poor ’93 Lumina was on its last legs and I NEEDED a car. Going car shopping and knowing I was in the market not only made me feel all grown up, it also felt pretty cool knowing that, for the first time, I would be the all important decision maker. This one wasn’t that much of a thrill but it still makes the list since driving off the lot with my brand new blue Honda felt pretty great!

Lastly, the one that still holds a bit of that newish charm is having a retirement fund. Last year I started investing into a 403(b), which is basically a 401(k) for teachers, and everytime I think about my slowly growning money, I still get that proud little flutter. It’s kind of a “Look at me! I’m planning for the future!” feeling. This one will probably fade into the mundane with time, as well, but I’m enjoying while I can.

So, is there anything in your life that makes you feel particularlly grown up?  I still feel itchy.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on April 6, 2010, in AWESOME!, Dreams, Gross!, Life, Me, POISON!!, Random. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow .. a preemptive block. I’m not sure if I should be offended or proud. ;-)

Leave a Reply

