TAKS week in review

Well, I’m back! Testing weeks are always strange and usually horrible things that interfere with any sort of productivity and/or internet usage. It’s so hard to get back on track. For example, I have 474 unread items in my google reader… 135 of which are blogs that I read on a regular basis and that number just keeps rising! (ToT). Now, usually, I would sift through them on my off periods or at lunch if I decide to eat alone in my room )which doesn’t happen much). Anyway, the point being that I am far, far behind and I apologize to all of you for my lack of interaction. AND next week won’t be any better because it’s spring break and I don’t usually spend that much time online during holidays.

This is a pretty accurate description of how testing weeks make me feel. Just leave me alone and no one gets hurt!

One thing that came during testing week, from the unlikeliest source, is that I gained a new perspective on my situation here at my campus. The first day of testing we “borrowed” a teacher from another campus for a bathroom monitor since all of our other teachers were doing review sessions. Before the test, I was chatting with him and he was asking about our program. Here’s more or less how the conversation went:

“So, are you on a nine month schedule?”

“No. We have classes all year.”

“Really? It’s year-round?”

“Uh huh. No summers off for us.”

“Do you get paid extra?”

“Well, no. But we get some Fridays off.”

“But you work through the summer…”

“Yup.”

“Then, why are you here?”

He was incredulous and I was dumbstruck. Over and over and over again I’ve been told what a sweet gig we’ve got here (small classes, few discipline problems, making a real difference, etc, etc) but a part of me has never been fully happy with it. I’ve often felt that there must be something wrong with me to look a gift horse in the mouth, so to speak. I should feel privileged to be able to work with such a program. And I do feel privileged. But somewhere, in the back of my mind, there’s always been a niggling of unease. I mean, isn’t that one of the perks of teaching? We may not get paid as much as other college grads but there’s job security and summers off, but job security has gone down the drain in Texas the last couple years, just ask Dallas ISD and I don’t get summers off, so where’s the payoff? Why am I here? I guess I felt kind of like Hurley in the first season of “Lost” when the crazy french lady agrees with him that the numbers are cursed. It was kind of a “I know, right?! Thank you!” moment that made me feel okay to not like my situation. I guess it gave me permission to think that it might be at least okay to work at a regular school. I’m not the only one. I’m not crazy.

Anyway, I have a lot more TAKS tidbits but I don’t know if I’ll get around to writing about them. I’m kind of sick of TAKS stuff myself. We’ll see.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on March 8, 2010, in Life, Me, Musings, Random, Stress, Work. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It does me good to see you referencing Lost. :D

Leave a Reply

