A little late?

I just realized I forgot to share the pictures I took of my awesome teriyaki chicken making-ness. I said I was going to and then I didn’t. Bad me!

Well, I don’t know if anyone cares, but it was amazing to me to see the transformation of some random liquid ingredients into teriyaki sauce. CRAZY! Anywho, I’m not going to bore you with ALL of the details (although I took a picture at pretty much every step) and just stick to the chicken. (The noodles kind of grossed me out.)

So, here goes! My first attempt at photoblogging… So I should shut up, right?

First off, we have all the lovely ingredients acquired by my awesome husband. There were a few that I had never cooked with before so it was rather exciting.

 Especially the fish sauce. “Anchovy extract”? Really? Scary stuff right there!

 Moving on. The chicken got cut into strips and put into a foil-lined cassarole dish, the noodles were bubbling away on the back burner and I started on the sauce. Corn starch, water, soy sauce, apple cider vinegar and sugar. By far, the hardest step for me was this one. (For making the teriyaki sauce anyway. That fish sauce was pretty rank!)

Just the thought of vinegar is enough to make my nostrils burn and my stomach do a little flip. I hate the stuff. I can’t even eat vinegrette dressings. But once it was done and everthing was all mixed up… Oops! Almost forgot the ginger!

Then we heated it until it started to thinken and voilà! Teriyaki sauce! :D

It was delicious in spite of the vinegar. ;)

The thickened sauce was then poured over the chicken and baked.

While it was baking I completed the garlic noodles (I was really trepidatious about adding the garlic sauce to the noodles as it smelled pretty bad. But once they were mixed the smell changed completely.)

And if you missed it, here’s the finished product. It turned out pretty good, even if the chicken was dry.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on February 24, 2010, in Random. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That was a truly delicious meal.

    Is trepidatious a real word? ;P

  2. Oh man! Jon want.

Leave a Reply

