Goals are NEATO!

I’ve never been one for New Year’s resolutions. To me they beg to be broken. And yes, I understand that people want to get the new year off to a good start or something and thus they proclaim “I will do [blank] more/less than I did last year!!” and everyone pats them on the back as they all compair these imaginary badges. Good job everybody! (O_o)

But I know myself, and I know that that time of year (we’re usually on vacation at that point) is not the time that I need to be trying to make major changes in my screwed up little life.  I mean, come on! What am I really going to do other than waste time and eat leftovers? For me, real discipline comes when, in the midst of all the hustle and bustle of work, I can make time for the things that I’ve decided I need to do.

So, why on earth am I talking about New Year’s resolutions in the middle of February? I’ve just been thinking about the things that I decided I wanted to get done over the course of the last few years. Most of them have been constant and most of them are things that I’ve worked up to. Working out more, writing more, blogging more, taking more pictures and so on. I’ve also decided that it’s time to grow up as far as my wardrobe goes and as much as I hate to shop, I’ve been making a point to buy a couple of things every pay check (which means once a month). I guess the point is, that I’m being realistic and I’m gradually working toward my goals. And they are goals, not resolutions.

That being said, I’m happy to report that I’m working on (and I’m close to finishing) my second short story of the year, which is pretty stinking great considering the fact that it’s barely February and I wrote a grand TOTAL of two or three stories all of last year. My goal as far as short stories go, I’m trying to write at least one a month and I’m going to endevour to either get my novel back on track (i.e. rewriting) or finishing the darn thing as it is. (ICK!)

I guess part of the reason to put this down here is some kind of accountability. I hate to say it, but I think I’ve kind of taken the words of a certain former late night comedian to heart. To paraphrase, be nice and work hard. Yeah, yeah. It sounds trite and cliche, but as my lovely husband has pointed out to me many times, sometimes cliches are cliche because they’re true.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on February 19, 2010, in Life, Me, Random, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

