Have you ever tried listening?

I have a student that likes–no, LOVES–to talk. If I let her, she will completely dominate a classroom discussion and even with my guidance it’s hard for anyone else (myself included) to get a word in edgewise. She’s one of those sweet, innocents that lack in social perception skills.  I feel a little sorry for the girl, because you can see the annoyance on some of the others’ faces, but she remains oblivious.

This, of course, is near and dear to my heart. I’m sure I was that girl, once upon a time. Straight out of homeschooling and thrown into the vicious world of high school drama. Thankfully, I was just as oblivious as my student and if anyone was talking about me, I never heard it or didn’t care. As I’ve gotten older my skin has gotten a little thinner as I’ve been conditioned to care what others think of me. I have to admit that while I’m glad that I’ve gotten a bit more sophisticated (I like to think) in my social interactions and in the way that I think, I miss that thick  shell of oblivion that kept me safe.

I still like to think that I am fairly immune to the criticism of others, but I know there are certain things that shoot straight to my core and can leave me reeling for days if not months. Like any sane person, (no offense if you’re insane) I don’t like pain and will do just about anything to avoid it. That being said, I am making a conscious effort lately to open myself up to people and, let me tell you, that scares the crap out of me. The haranguing voice of self preservation goes nuts at the mere thought of letting someone close enough to hurt me but I don’t want to be the cold and calloused person that I know I’m capable of becoming. On the inside at least. I don’t think I could ever really be a cold hearted jerk to people. Ugh! Welcome to rambling time with Mrs. Self Absorbed. Sorry guys…

Here’s a picture of a puppy to make it all better!

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on February 15, 2010, in Random. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Puppies really do make everything better. I bet if Dexter murdered people with a puppy, no one would condemn his actions.

    • Lol! Wow… Really? Murder by puppy? That would just add insult to injury.

      “How’d you die?”

      ::mumble, mumble::

      “What?”

      ::cough:: ::mumble:: “I was murdered with a puppy.”

  2. I take it this conversation is happening in the afterlife? That would be pretty demeaning.

Leave a Reply

