The power of a whisper.

As I was sitting in the computer lab at work, a couple of teachers were having a conversation that I was wholly ignoring, my mind being on other things. There was a general buzz of conversation in the air and I wasn’t paying particular attention to anything. Suddenly, one of the teachers dropped his voice to a whisper, leaning over intently telling the other something he obviously didn’t want everyone to hear. Instantly, my ear gravitated to that whisper. I wanted to know what he was trying to hide from the room at large. I caught myself and focused my attention back on the news articles I was skimming, but I could feel the pull to strain to hear what he was saying.

I seem to recall in some spy flick or something that they mentioned the incredible draw that a whisper in the midst of a crowd can have on people. The protagonist told their protege something to the effect of “if you are in the middle of a bunch of hustle and bustle and don’t want to be heard, speak low but normally. A whisper peaks curiosity.”

I felt the draw today and I try to remember this tidbit of wisdom when I have secrets to tell. Have you ever felt the pull of a whisper?

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on February 1, 2010, in Me, Musings, Random, Work. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

