Two Years Ago…

…I was getting ready. Showering. Eating breakfast. Butterflies in my stomach. So excited that this day had finally come.

Two years ago, I went over to Tara’s house for her to do my hair and makeup while Sonja sat on the couch across from me with her hair in curlers. I’m sure I have a picture of that somewhere.

Two years ago, Sonja and I used wire and tape and ribbon to weave together white roses and orange Peruvian lilies into two bouquets that turned out much prettier than we anticipated.

Two years ago, I was getting dressed in the white skirt I made and the white peasant blouse I found that was just perfect. White flip-flops to match.

Two years ago, I waited in the back of the church. Taking pictures. Laughing. Smiling. Hugs all around. Trying not to cry when Mom AND Dad did.

Two years ago, I was thinking back to all the wonderful years we’d already spent together. When you told me you were falling for me. Watching movies. Holding hands. That beautiful night at the symphony. Walks on cool autumn nights. Our first kiss. Christmases, Birthdays. All the normal days and normal times that made me love you. When you proposed. How much I loved the ring. Small and unassuming and perfectly unique.

Two years ago, I walked down the aisle to a beautiful piano piece that most there would have been shocked came from a video game.  Dearly Beloved. Dad walking with me, tears in his eyes. Everything light and easy and comfortable, just like we wanted it to be.

Two years ago, I saw you standing there. Looking nervous as hell, but happy too.

Two years ago, everything faded into a bright surrounding blur as you took my hand and looked into my eyes.

Two years ago, I couldn’t stop smiling and neither could you. You may kiss.

Two years ago, we said, “I do.” Husband and wife.

Two years ago, our lives changed.

Two years ago, I married my best friend.

I love you, Aaron.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on October 6, 2009, in Family, Life, Love, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. What a great tribute to your husband and a great testimony to marriage.

    P.S. How did you get the Stumble button on your page. I have tried so many times and can’t figure it out. I hope you can help.

    (Edited by Admin: Sorry, no “advertising” allowed.)

    • Thank you.

      To add Stumble I used this HTML. (I changed the to [ and ] so it would show. You’ll have to change them back.) [a href=”http://www.stumbleupon.com/submit?url=https://melme.wordpress.com%26title%3DThe%2BArticle%2BTitle”] [img border=”0″ src=”http://cdn.stumble-upon.com/images/120x20_thumb_black.gif” alt=””][/a]
      Under widgets add a new text widget. Copy and paste the HTML (Again changing [‘s to <'s) and replace my web address with your own and save! All set! :)

  2. Whoo hoo! Love it! Congratulations guys! I pray many more happy years! I love being ur alls friend. (Sry for the bad grammar. Hehe)

Leave a Reply

