A little bit of crazy.

I’ve started “collecting” blogs. I don’t know how or when exactly this started, but I think Bill Harris‘ posts about his son (I started reading him because of Aaron) may have been the beginning followed by various World of Warcraft related blogs that also happened to talk about real life as well like Temerity Jane. I also started reading Fabulous Lorraine’s blog because of reading about Neil Gaiman’s goings on. (Because I’m a fangirl.) From there it just escalated.

I feel ever so slightly guilty about it because it seems a little creepy and deviant and voyeuristic to be so enthralled reading about other people’s lives but it is incredibly entertaining. I’ve always been a people watcher and this is just a new way to do it. I am fascinated by these people’s lives and personalities and I love the interaction we have sometimes when I get over my shyness and comment on their blogs. (Yes, I am a lurker…)

How does a blog make the cut? I give each new blog that I find a chance to impress me and if they pass the “am I skimming because I feel bored” test, they make it into my Google reader. From the preliminaries, in my daily reader checks, if I don’t regularly feel the need to skip them they stay, if not it’s toodles. Using this process I now have 20+ blogs in my reader… And yes I read them all. Some post daily, some weekly and some it’s an “Oh!” moment when one that doesn’t post often is sitting there waiting for me.

So, I guess the point of this is, Thank You! Thank you, internet and bloggers, whether you know it or not, for the hours of entertainment that have gotten me through countless bad days. It means a lot to me that you’re out there sharing your lives. I’ll do my best to do the same.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on October 5, 2009, in Me, Musings, Random. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

