The Moody Blues

I’ve been in a really sentimental mood lately. Well, I don’t know if sentimental is really the word I’m looking for, but it’s as close as I can get to what I mean. I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching and observing the world at large, and I can’t stand all the hatred and anger I see around me every day. I include myself as part of the problem as well. I regularly go through any range of ill feelings toward my fellow man on a regular basis. This article got me thinking about how Christians (again, myself included) often replace loving others, which is what we’re supposed to do, with “getting closer to God”, i.e. more praying, church, bible reading, etc. This might partially have a bit to do with reminiscing about 9/11, but this feeling predates even remembering the anniversary was coming up. I guess I just keep watching the people around me and hoping for some kindness, some compassion to be shown to each other and I keep not seeing it.

For instance, last night we made a quick run to the grocery store to pick up sandwich stuff for work lunches and we were having a conversation about something. I asked Aaron a question and he had just started answering when both of us had our train of thought derailed by the man in front of us in line. He was being a grade A jerk to the cashier (who, might I add, I would be shocked if he doesn’t prefer the company of men) complete with bulging eyes and bad attitude. I don’t even know what he was having a hissy fit about, but the cashier handled it well, smiling all the while. After the guy stalked off, it was our turn and we joked with the cashier about the Jerk-Face and I “apologized on the behalf of humanity”. He laughed and told us not to worry about it, “it happens all the time”. That just makes me ashamed to be human! Who has the right to treat another human being like they’re worthless ON A REGULAR BASIS?! I wish that everyone could just put themselves in someone else’s shoes for once and think about the impact that their words can have in people’s lives.

Be nice to others. You never know when they’ve just encountered a Jerk-Face.

“The LORD is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love.” Psalm 103:8 (NIV)
About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on September 14, 2009, in God, Idiocy, Life, Love, Me, Musings, Rants, Sadness^Pi. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Yet you post a remark about the cashier or the jerkface possibly being gay? I think I am confused…very confused.

    • From what I could tell, the cashier was quite probably gay. (I’m 99.9% sure, but you never know.) The whole reason I remarked about his effeminacy is because I think that may have been the only cause for the rudeness on the part of the customer. He was a pretty efficient cashier and he was really nice to the jerkface customer in spite of the guy being a… jerk… face. . . . O_o

Leave a Reply

