BLOG THIS!!

I’ve been reading a lot of blogs lately. And against my usual trend of reading blogs for a particular purpose (like reading blogs about gaming and other things I’m interested in) I’ve been reading plain jane this-is-what’s-going-on-in-my-

life BLOGs. This trend started with Temerity Jane (found her because of her posts about WoW but she mostly just writes about what’s going on) and Dubious Quality (a blog that I learned about because of Aaron. He blogs about gaming, but his blogs about his son are really why I read it now). Then I turned into a fangirl and subscribed to JoCo‘s Blog and Neil Gaiman‘s Blog and from there it just kept going. Their stories about their lives intrigued me and different people linked to other “normal” people’s blogs and I started following them and…

Long story short, I love it! And before I start weirding people out, I’m only reading four more than the one’s I’ve already mentioned, five if you include the Itty Bitty Kitty Committee, Laurie includes more than just kitten pictures sometimes. Point being that it’s not like I’m some hermit that sits crouched in front of a glowing screen in a dark room muttering about staying updated… Sounds like a short story brewing right there. =)

Anyway, the point is… Well, really there is no point. I just think that it’s amazing how interesting other real people’s lives can be. Maybe I’m just a voyeur and I like peeping anonymously into the lives of complete strangers, but in that voyeurism these stories are inspiring to me. To see people taking up causes that others might find trivial or just pushing beyond the hardships that face them or just seeing glimpses of a parent’s experiences with their child. In any case, I think I’m just coming to realize more and more that we need to look beyond ourselves and love what we see. That guy that cut you off and took you parking space, you don’t know where he’s been or what he’s going through. We need to stop treating other people like “strangers”, treat them like we’d want to be treated and give them the benefit of the doubt. Be a doormat? No. Just don’t be an ass.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on July 8, 2009, in Me, Musings, Rants. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hmmm… nah! Being an ass is too much fun. ;)

  2. teacher…he said, “ass!”

    I agree with both of you…because, well, after all, being an ass does have its place!

Leave a Reply

