Still going…

As most of you know, I’ve started my certification training and I have yet to be impressed. I just happened to get a teacher that I really don’t mesh with and he’s driving me nuts! I don’t see what most of what he says has anything to do with teaching. It seems like he just likes to hear himself speak, but haven’t we all had that teacher at some point? If nothing else, I’m learning, yet again, some things not to do as a teacher.

On top of not liking my instructor, we took our practice content test yesterday and frankly I feel completely out of my element. Most of the questions dealt with what you would do as a teaching in hypothetical situations having to do with trying to get students to learn certain concepts. I guessed a lot and I feel frustrated that these are the things I should be learning through this program but instead I feel like I’ve gotten the short end of the stick as far as an experienced teacher goes. From what I’ve heard, he was only actually a classroom teacher for about five years before going into administration. Not exactly the kind of experience that you would expect a teacher of teachers to have, huh… Oh well… We’ll see what happens.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on June 4, 2008, in Life. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You have to think about what part of the states your in! I mean at least he speaks English right! He does speak English…right??
    ;P

Leave a Reply

