Why flashdrives are female…

Yeah, I know. In an electronic sense, flashdrives would be considered “male” but when it comes down to the nitty-gritty, they have the temperament of a stereotypical woman… Here’s how I came to this conclusion. The other day, I decided to see if my flashdrive would work in the current family computer that’s barely running windows 98. So, the computer recognises the flashdrive and prompts me for a driver to let it run. I (supposedly) acquire said driver, install it and nothing…. Well, actually, blue screen of death, but that’s another point altogether. I moved on until this morning I got to thinking. In a very blond moment, the thought occurred to me “If the computer can recognize the flashdrive as such how come it can’t run it?” This thought was immediately followed by “The reason the computer knows it’s a flashdrive is cause the flashdrive tells it so.” So, in my head this is how the dialogue between flashdrive and host computer would run:

Computer’s standing by the water cooler and a flash drive walks in.
Computer: Hey, what’s your name?
Flashdrive: I’m sandisk micro.
Comp: You new around here?
FD: Yes (shyly)
Comp: Do you work here?
FD nods.
Comp: So, what do you do?
FD: If you don’t know, I’m not telling you! (huffs off)
Comp: Was it something I said?

 Yeah, I know I’m weird. So sue me.

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on April 23, 2007, in Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

