Just thinking…

So, yeah, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately. What, with graduation looming around the corner, my thoughts often turn to the future. I mean, what do I really want to do with my life? I suppose I picked teaching because of the potential job security and the possible opportunity do make some sort of difference in someone else’s life. I know that must sound naive and idealistic, but it’s true. I don’t know if I can hack it though… That doesn’t mean I’m not going to try. It’s just, I don’t have that passion for teaching that seems to be the mark of a good teacher. I just hope that caring about my students will be enough to pull me through.

It’s funny, though… I was reading through Aaron’s list of “Things I’d Like to Do Creatively Before I Die” and it got me thinking about what would be on my list. I’ve always wanted to do voice work. Singing and for animation. I’ve also always wanted to write a novel or even get some of my short stories published. And even though I gave up on my dream of being a chef, I still think it’d be something I’d like to train in. There’s all that and a hundred more things I’d like to do… How do you make them happen?

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on April 3, 2007, in Life, Me, Musings. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I think its funny how you and Aaron have rekindled a desire I had when I was little. I rememeber wanting to be an actor,(film and TV), and saying I would branch out to also, “do the voices of cartoons”. I didnt know what that profession was called at the time. Now I know its referred to as “voice acting”. Granted this was back when I was like 10, 11, 12 years old when I also wanted to be a toy maker. I dont know how it would all fit into God’s plan for me, but I think it would be cool to lend my voice to an animated project.
    In all honestly I think you an Aaron have a much greater chance at voice acting because you’re both just so good at it. How can you make it happen? It sounds cliche and like the obvious response, but let God do the work. I dont know. I’ve heard testimonies of people that have gotten the opportunity to do things they always wanted to do just because they were faithful to the Lord. You never know dude. Like the little boy in Angels in the Outfield said, “It could happen.”
    And when it does, there’s no harm in calling up old friends to help you in the production of a movie. However untalented they may be. Adam Sandler does it. :-)

Leave a Reply

