Phew!

So, I scared myself so badly last night I had trouble sleeping. I was looking at the registration site for panam, planning what classes to register for (I wasn’t able to register until today). And looked at my finacial aid info. It said that I didn’t qualify for aid next year. I freaked out a little bit. I started trying to figure out what I’m supposed to do, etc. and when I went to bed I couldn’t shut my brain off. So, I woke up earlier than usual this morning so that I’d have a better chance of getting the classes I want. Feeling less than rested, I went to the panam website and as I was adding my classes and stuff, I decided, on a whim, to check the finaid page again. This time, I read the fine print. I forgot that because I dropped a class last semester I was deficient in hours for a pell grant and that after I complete this semester it’ll be taken care of. Talk about a load off my mind! I feel almost as good as I did yesterday after seeing my advisor. Yay!

So, it’s decided. I’ll finish up in the fall (I don’t get any grants for summer and I really don’t want any loans) and graduate in Dec. As Aaron said, finally, the light at the end of a long tunnel. I just need to buckle down and not lose my bearings these last few classes. That would suck!

*WARNING* RANT AHEAD!
On another school related note… I had an exam this morning in brit. lit. It’s the same class I complained about on xanga. The class is fifty minutes long and he wanted a “well thought out, 500 – 600 word essay in addition to a (thankfully) short multiple choice section. The essay prompt was so specific and convelouted, he had to take ten minutes at the beginning of class to explain it! Even then, it still didn’t make sense. I think most people just wrote whatever. I know I did. ::sigh:: What runs through professor’s heads when they pull stuff like that?

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on March 28, 2007, in Rants, School. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Probably things like, “My spouse didn’t give me any last night so I’m goin to take it out on my students.” Or … “Because of the pain in the butt my professors were to me, I’ll be an equally pain in the butt to these students.” Or … my personal favorite, “I have to give an exam tomorrow and I don’t know what to give them. I’ll just pull something out of my butt. The students are likely to do the same.”

    Choose which ever sounds best.

  2. Professor of Mad Skillz

    “I have to give an exam tomorrow and I don’t know what to give them. I’ll just pull something out of my butt. The students are likely to do the same.”

    You have no idea how right you are.

    As for the other two: You must remember, we are not out to cause you pain. It’s not worth it, see below:

    pain = people coming to office hours

    people coming to office hours = not working on the projects I actually get judged on

    not working on the projects I actually get judged on = getting fired

    getting fired = being unemployed (surpisingly, PhDs in the social sciences and humanities aren’t that useful about of higher education)

    being unemployed = eating my dog jack for dinner

    If I wanted to do that, I’d just skip all the in-betweens and move to Korea.

  3. Politics, bureaucracy, mis-managment.

Leave a Reply

