Last xanga post…

I’m posting my last real xanga post here. I guess I was hoping it would actually spur some discussion. Have at thee!

On the heavier side… and a bit gushy!
Hmm… Life is strange. Thinking back to my high school days, I never would have imagined this is where I’d be. I really don’t know what exactly I had in mind, but it’s safe to say my current life is not what I would have planned for myself. But, in the end, I don’t know that I would change a thing about it. I mean, sure, I suppose I could have made wiser decisions at certain points, but over all, I am content with where God has lead me. The things that I never would have thought of to ask for are the greatest blessing. I have no major regrets. Just the minor ones everyone has:

I shouldn’t have taken that stupid design class.
Why did I buy that pair of pants I’m never going to wear? What a waste.
Ugh! Never eating that again! :)

I guess what I’m trying to say is… what? Well… be thankful, I guess. In my life right now, sure, everything isn’t peaches, but when I look at all the good things in my life, I feel so grateful. I thank God for every blessing he’s given me! I have a wonderful fiance, a loving family, good friends, a roof over my head, food in my tummy, relatively little debt, gerbils and I’m loved and accepted by a merciful and forgiving God. When I think of all the opportinites, people and even just the little day to day things He’s placed in my path, it makes me feel so very cared for.

It’s funny. I was thinking back to the days before Aaron and all the silly little things the girls at church, myself included, used to do… I remember “the list” that we were encouraged to make regarding what we wanted in a husband. We had to narrow it down to ten things that were a must and ten things that would be a deal-breaker. And I think it was supposed to be as specific as possible. A couple years ago, I was going through some old papers and found it. I laughed at how vague many of the answers were and compared the list to Aaron. I can safely say, though I don’t have the list anymore, that Aaron fulfilled all the items on the list, but also, there are things about him that I never would have thought to ask for and are such a blessing, but they’re there too. I thank God for placing an awesome guy like Aaron in my life: first as a friend and now as my soon to be husband.

But I digress. So, what do you all think? Are you happy with your life? Is there anything major that you wish you could do over? Or can you see that even in the bad moments, something good can come out of it? (Romans 8:28)This isn’t the kind of thing that can be answered knee-jerk. Give it some thought.

“Done and done!”
Peace,
Stephanie

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on March 26, 2007, in God, Love, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Beleive it or not I was able to read this post on your Xanga. The fincky filters at their usual. I like your WordPress. It looks pretty cool. Should they losen the noose here at work, I may decide to vacate Xanga as well. The only two people that read it consistently were you and Aaron. This way I could send the link to old friends in college that I dont see anymore and they could comment on whatever is posted. Again, all this is hypothetical … for the time being that it.

  2. Dude why did you requre an email address as a prerequisite in leaving a comment? Anyways. I forgot to add a comment on the content of your post.

    I’ve seen things go sour in my life. Bad ending to a relationship, parents divorce, and so on. To be honest I’ve actually considered giving a mini-message at church about the topic. Things happen in life that shape who you are as an adult. Not all of it is peaches and cream. But like Romans 8:28 you have to trust that God works for our best, even in things that hurt.

Leave a Reply

