The Trouble with Tribbles…

…And inconsistent workout facilities.

Just in case you missed it, here’s a recap of what’s going on with me: Working on getting into running shape, quitting teaching and moving to Seattle in August. (Did I cover those last two on the blog, or just on twitter? I don’t recall…) There. You’re all caught up. ;)

Disclaimer: I know I’m talking about health and fitness a lot lately, or maybe it only seems that way to me, but, as I’m sure you can imagine, it’s at the forefront of my mind. If you find this sort of thing boring, I apologize, but to me it’s vastly more interesting than my oh so common complainy pants posts, so you’ll just have to deal with it until something more interesting comes along. Here’s a picture of some otters I took at an aquarium to assuage any potential wrath:

See? he's yawning!! How could you be mad at that cute little face?!

So, yeah, turns out this post will be not only fitness related, but of the whiny variety as well. I’m having a bit of trouble this week. Pretty regularly now, a coworker and I had been taking advantage of the small exercise room provided by our district for after-work workouts. And on the days that she was busy with kid-related stuff, I would go home and either go walking with my husband or do some laps in the apartment pool. Since the beginning of the hot season here in south Texas, which started in February or March this year, walking in the afternoon was taken off the docket due to my propensity to overheat. We would still go in the morning on the weekends, but then even that got too hot, but we always had the pool.

Fate, it seems, has decided to make my life miserable. This weekend we went swimming on Saturday, noting that the pool was kind of green. Then, with much hesitation, we sucked it up and went swimming again, on Sunday, in an even greener pool. (Icky!) We decided not to use the pool again until the situation was remedied. (I think the filter isn’t working. There wasn’t any suction.) And upon further inspection yesterday, it is, in fact, closed with no sign or anything to let us know what’s going on.

Then, yesterday, after work, I changed into my workout clothes and headed over to the workout room… It had a sign on the door:

I was not only irritated that it was closed, (and I changed in the bathroom for nothing!) , but yesterday was May 31, not June 1, so the sign was a big fat liar! Way to lie, liar sign! I was pissed to say the least.

THEN! To top it all off, got into the car, pulled out my ancient muddy pond brown Zune and found this:

Note the cracks and large black spot on the upper left side. I love you, Zune! Please, don’t die!! (Although, upon further inspection, I kind of love it that Elphaba is staring fixedly at the black spot! Maybe she can fix it with her magics! Though that didn’t work out too well for her, so maybe not…) (Also, that’s Donna Vivino as Elphaba. She is amazing! I just needed to let you know.) Upon discovering the injured Zune, I called Aaron for the fiftieth huffy time of the day just to share my dismay with someone.

And this was all on top of the previous huffy calls that were due to missing texts that threw off my crock pot plans! CROCK POT PLANS THAT I WOKE UP AT 5:00AM TO BRING TO FRUITION!!!

Ahem. Sorry. It was all very upsetting.

Anyway, in typical “me” style, I’ve said all that just to get to my point: My avenues for exercise have been decreased dramatically! Too hot/humid to walk (I mean, it’s almost 100F out there, people! Heat Index! UV rays! Solar… Flares…?). Exercise room at work, closed. Pool, closed. I’m at a loss. What’s a girl to do? (ToT)

About Melme

Can I have some coffee now, please?

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Fitness, Idiocy, Me, Random, Sadness^Pi, Stress. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Screw the gym. It is a judgmental bastion of sadness and stinky. haha stinky. Wait till you see my post tomorrow

    • I hate gyms (and working out indoors, in general) but thankfully no one uses the one at work… Which is probably why they closed it. It’s just to damn hot here for me to get anything done outside! :(

  2. So, curious: Why Seattle? New job there?

    • I wish I could say it was anything that compelling or mature but the truth of it is that I’m sick of living in a flat area, devoid of trees and cold weather. I so badly want tall trees and green things. I need mountains to hike and freezing rivers to swim in. Plus, my family lived in Washington for a few years when I was a kid and it’s been my favorite place to live. We’ll see how it all turns out! :)

  3. Fair enough. I couldn’t live anywhere that wasn’t green and had seasons. Southern Illinois is VERY green, lol. And not flat like the rest of Illinois at all…although definitely not mountainous either.

    I visited Seattle many, many years ago. I remember it being kinda chilly, even during the summer, but that could have just been when I was there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.